tMoA

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
tMoA

~ The only Home on the Web You'll ever need ~

+3
mudra
Carmen
baggywrinkle
7 posters

Love, Community, and our walk of faith.

baggywrinkle
    baggywrinkle

Love, Community, and our walk of faith. Empty Love, Community, and our walk of faith.

Post  baggywrinkle Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:42 pm

Here I sit at the table of Mark and
    Paulette, my wife at my side.
    Mark on my left balances his son Merlin on his
    knee as he feeds the boy. I lean
    forward and peer down the table and can not
    see the end round the corner. There are
    fourteen children and six adults
    present for lunch. Mark is a house painter by trade.
    I make my portion very
    small as the dishes make their rounds.

I have not sat at such a table
    since I was a a small child visiting my Grandparents in the
    early sixties in
    Iowa. Deb is lovely in her new spring cape dress. The white mesh prayer caps

worn by all of the ladies identify this as a Mennonite household. We are
    among the Peculiar People.
    The road that brought us here began in a round
    about way on September 11th 2001. The day freedom
    began to die. Soon after
    that event I began researching and what I found rends my heart to this day.

But that is another story and has already been addressed.

The next
    watershed event was the shooting at Nickel Mines Pennsylvania in October of 2006
    that took six young lives.
    Marian and Barbie Fisher demonstrated their
    conviction of faith when they asked the shooter to "Shoot me
    first" and let
    the little ones go. Marian died and Barbie survived. The world was stunned by
    the forgiveness
    exhibited as the community tended not only to it's own but to
    the shooter's family also. The power of faith
    and forgiveness. A pastor who
    had been with the Roberts family - the gunman left behind a wife and three
    children -